Trident with Very Straight Trunk - Help!

SandSquid

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B
Looking for a bit of help and guidance. Suggestions. Good-to-knows. Anything that’ll help. I’m fairly new to bonsai, and I’ve had this guy for a little bit, a trident maple. The trunk is about 2” wide at the base before it tapers ever so slightly up. This trunk is very straight and forks into three, two of which pretty much parallel one another. I gave it a good trim a couple days ago to somewhat conical shape, and I’ve been staring at it since then trying to figure out what to do. I’ve watched videos and read blogs and forums, but I’m getting nothing. So, figured I’d open a discussion about it with you fine folks and see what you think. For reference the tree stands 24” tall with a 16” spread. See pics….. I welcome any and all suggestions. Seriously, bring it on. IMG_0029.jpegIMG_0030.jpegIMG_0031.jpeg

2"=20 10:1 but that is a minimum ratio for trunk diameter:height ratio. 5:1 let's say is 10" tall finished tree. You make the trunk chop at 4-6" and you let grow again. Training one of the lowest branches and go from there.

2"=20 10:1 but that is a minimum ratio for trunk diameter:height ratio. 5:1 let's say is 10" tall finished tree. You make the trunk chop at 4-6" and you let grow again. Training one of the lowest branches and go from there.
Make the chop 4”-6” from the top or from the bottom? From the bottom there are no branches (and I’m not sure I see buds) that low…

EDIT: I take that back, there is some activity that low.

Last edited:
It sounds like between the two suggestions so far, air layer in the spring at about five inches up, which would give me two trees plus the
chop that was suggested. This is where my noob-ness really shows because I have an initial resistance to cutting of the foliage all in one chop :p