New to growing new bonsai with Chinese Elm

Chloester

Seedling
Reaction score
California-near SF (foggiest part along the ocean)
USDA Zone
I’m new to bonsai’s but I started last year with sprouting Chinese Elm. It’s a wonderful tree, and loves the kitchen atrium where it faces south. I repotted in the Spring, and did a little bit of pruning because it outgrew the pot. But then I read afterwards that I should not have repotted or pruned until the second year. Oops. Now I’m in a conundrum because I want to do a bit of pruning. My question is, can I do a bit of pruning before next year or do I have to wait? If I can where?

Attachments

• IMG_6848.jpeg
    IMG_6848.jpeg
    241.6 KB · Views: 46
  • IMG_6849.jpeg
    IMG_6849.jpeg
    250 KB · Views: 44
DON'T DO IT!

...before you add a general location to your profile.
Then we at least know if it's summer or winter where you are. That could make a difference.

DON'T DO IT!

...before you add a general location to your profile.
Then we at least know if it's summer or winter where you are. That could make a difference.
A very valid question. It’s summer…but my general location is the far west coast. Meaning my summers are generally below 70 degree (low to mid 60s the highest is 68) from June thru August. Although on occasion I may see the full blue sky and the sun during the day but so far it happened twice last month with it only high of 72 degrees. Also, some days I see the sun as it’s setting which gives my trees sun light too. But most days it is foggy making the air wet and cold. It won’t warm up until mid to late September.

Last edited:
But then I read afterwards that I should not have repotted or pruned until the second year.