New to bonsai - Ficus

Sparkkat

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I just got this Ficus from Home Depo.. is this moss Ok to have in the pot? I don't even know if its real, its very dry. is it supposed to help keep the plant moist? Im very new to bonsai and so far i only misted and watered the soil, not enough for any water to come out of the bottom though. It also came with dust on the leaves, im planning to just wipe it off with a wet paper towel.

Ok uh the pictures i attached didn't post for some reason, im gonna try to re-upload them when i get home, its just giving an error message.

Technical issues are routine. We'll be here when you're ready.

If they're the same ones we got in at our local Home Depot, they're not bad as cheap mallsai go.
Water until the water comes out the bottom, every time. Try the chopstick trick; jab a wooden or bamboo chopstick or skewer or the like into the soil all the way to the bottom of the pot, and leave it there. Use it as a dipstick to check soil moisture. Water when the stick feels all but dry.
Moss in pots is common, and most often decorative. Moss also likes allot more water than most trees, so the tree could be fine even if the moss isn't.

Where are you keeping it? Trees are evolved to be outdoors of course, but a ficus can be happy in a bright window if that's all your situation allows.

Hopefully the pictures work this time, they were taken a little bit before i posted. Also, thank you so much for the advice!
A few hours ago i watered until water came out the bottom, i wiped off the leaves and misted it as well. Right now it’s in front of a pretty bright window, i don't know if the curtains would mess with the light? I bought a little humidifier since i run a fan in the room a lot, and that should be coming on Tuesday. I also bought a grow light because im getting a new bed soon and it might take up the space next to the window, i don't know yet.