Lavender Twist Redbud stump

Reaction score
Hi guys sorry if this is the wrong place but I am very new to this. Recently we purchased a lavander twist redbud tree that was about 5ft or so. The dogs decided it was a toy and broke it into a stump. To my amazement it started groing a sprout that turned into what I think was a new sappling. It got to about 3 ft and maybe 3/8 thickness. Though this was below a grafting line so I believe this would have been just redbud. Anyways dogs got to that again so I have a stump. Now we had the idea to turn it into a bonsai. So my question is am I wasting my time trying to bring back this tree for the second time? Will the transfer into a pot be too much of a shock? Will a redbud even make a decent bonsai, it had really large leaves? Anyways thanks for any help and I apologize for the massive ignorance on my part.

jradics

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
At this point, you have nothing to lose. Keep the pups away from it and do some research this winter about repotting. In the spring, do a major root reduction and put it in a pot

Gabler

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi guys sorry if this is the wrong place but I am very new to this. Recently we purchased a lavander twist redbud tree that was about 5ft or so. The dogs decided it was a toy and broke it into a stump. To my amazement it started groing a sprout that turned into what I think was a new sappling. It got to about 3 ft and maybe 3/8 thickness. Though this was below a grafting line so I believe this would have been just redbud. Anyways dogs got to that again so I have a stump. Now we had the idea to turn it into a bonsai. So my question is am I wasting my time trying to bring back this tree for the second time? Will the transfer into a pot be too much of a shock? Will a redbud even make a decent bonsai, it had really large leaves? Anyways thanks for any help and I apologize for the massive ignorance on my part.