Great resources for a total noob?

Reaction score
Hi everyone, just joined this forum. I'm from Canada and I've been thinking about starting a bonsai tree for a while now, but I've finally decided to dip my feet in and give it a try. My plan is to get one indoor bonsai, probably a ficus, and get some deciduous and coniferous seeds and see what works best for me. Because I'll be using some temperate trees, I figured now would be a good time to buy seeds so I can stratify them and grow them next spring.

I've grown many specialized plants like carnivorous plants, so I think I'm good with horticulture and plant care. What I'm looking for help with is how to start bonsai from seed, when/if I switch from soil to bonsai soil, the bonsai styles, what species/tree types look best with what style, what pot to use, pruning techniques, how to thicken the base of the tree and roughen up the bark, etc.

Obviously this site is a good resource and great place to ask questions, but I'm hoping to purchase a book and get help from here as needed. Others this site might be flooded with posts of mine!

The books I’ve really liked as a beginner are Jonas Dupuich’s Little Book of Bonsai and Peter Warren’s Bonsai. Both can be had quite cheaply.

The best resource for a noob is almost certainly the local club.

Local club is the best resource for most new growers. You'll get local knowledge and explanations rather than info for another climate and no way of clarifying if the info not absolutely clear in a book.

B'nut is also good because you can have that discussion though it may take a few days to drill right down to the crux of some issues.

There's a few online courses but can't say if any are good or comprehensive for beginners.