Any advice is appreciated

Goodlary

Seed
Reaction score
My experience in looking after a Bonsai only comes from YouTube tutorials and reading multiple forums on this website.

I hope to get some advice to keep my bonsai healthy, as this is my first time doing this

I've attached pictures. Here is the background:
- I'm in the UK, near London. The bonsai is on a windowsill and collects sunlight (when we have sun) all day long.
- This is an indoor bonsai tree (I live in a flat)
- I believe during the begining I overwatered the bonsai too much. Now I'm trying to test this better by putting my finger into the soil to test if it's damp or not first.
- I planted the seeds at the start of February 2024 (roughly 2.5 months old from the picture)
- I try and fertilize the soil with Westland Bonsai feed (from Amazon)

Questions I'd like somehelp with, please:
- Do you know what type of tree this will be? Or too early to tell? Sadly I'm not aware of what seeds or type of soil I was given. (It was a training bonsai kit as a gift)
- Some of the leaves are starting to brown at the edges - Is this due to overwatering? Any advice on how to heal this?
- The stem of the biggest seedling is thin and dark at the root and green and flowering at the top. Is that normal?
- A white fungus over the top of the soil. How harmful is this? Do I need new soil? (I tried cinnamon, but wasn't sure how much to actually put on the soil)
- I have multiple seedlings in this one pot. Is that okay, do i need to rehouse them?

Thank you very much in advance.

Attachments

• Bonsai 1.jpg
    Bonsai 1.jpg
    270.5 KB · Views: 18
  • Bonsai 2.jpg
    Bonsai 2.jpg
    310.7 KB · Views: 18
  • Bonsai 3.jpg
    Bonsai 3.jpg
    350.7 KB · Views: 18

Gabler

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I don't know what those are, but growing trees indoors year round ranges from difficult to impossible, depending on the species. Do you have a balcony?