Will this branch survive?

CWFowler

Seedling
Reaction score
Greetings!
I am very new at bonsai and definitely need some specific advice. I was wiring a branch and the tip of the wire twisted under the bark and completely removed it as I wound the wire around the branch. I realize my mistake there (should have left some slack on the wire where I started) but at this point it is what it is...
Any help or advice would be appreciated, will definitely try to save the branch if that’s possible. For reference the branch slightly larger than a pencil in diameter and the bark did indeed get removed around the entire circumference of the branch.
Thank you in advance!
-Colin

Attachments

• 4534619B-C93C-4287-B844-E195E1FF87A9.jpeg
    4534619B-C93C-4287-B844-E195E1FF87A9.jpeg
    177.9 KB · Views: 23
The mistake is to wire a juniper in the season when the bark slips off easily.
So it's not your technique, but the plants current state of affairs.

The branch might 'bridge' the gap but it's rare that this happens over large areas and over the full circumference. If you have cut paste or parafilm to protect it and maybe push the remaining strips of bark back in place, it might live. Otherwise, consider airlayering for experience. This is about the right time of year to do so.

Thank you for the advice! Getting some experience air laying will be the way to go it seems. How long do you think that I have to get the supplies in-hand and get the air layering done before it's too late?

A branch like this can survive for a couple days without 'feedback' from the rest of the tree. The main issue is that the wound tissue is exposed and likely to dry out and die. They can actually live for a couple years like this, but it's best to not take any chances.