What's happening to the leaves on my amur maple (acer ginnala)?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
This doesn't strike me as chlorosis, or is it? Fungus? Pest? Normal and harmless? Any information greatly appreciated!

IMG_3159.pngIMG_3160.pngIMG_3162.pngIMG_3161.png

On a related note, are "what's wrong with my leaves" questions on this forum the equivalent of "does this look infected" or "do these jeans make me look fat"?

It looks bacterial right?

I'm curious too- my Amurs did this, but then it just disappeared with no lasting effect. I suspect it's fungal, maybe from root stress? My thinking for it coming from the roots is how it regularly appears on the margins of the leaves- infection of the leaves per se would not have any discernable pattern.

In any case, (my) amur maples are so vigorous that it scarcely mattered.

Looks like a fungus to me, but I'm no tree doctor. What's the moisture levels like? Any odd odors?

Tree was collected from yard 18 months ago (spring of 2022) and placed in a starter pot. Over-wintered and came out strong this year. Up-potted in May, continued to thrive. Snipped off an unwanted leader (not the top apical leader; see very rough drawing) roughly three weeks later. Growth slowed somewhat but not unexpected. Substrate is free-draining Bonsai Jack's soil (zero puddling or overflow; straight through). No smell of root rot; no fungus gnats. Thank you peeps!

Attachments

• 1691291929957.png
    1691291929957.png
    5.2 KB · Views: 57
Tree was collected from yard 18 months ago (spring of 2022) and placed in a starter pot. Over-wintered and came out strong this year. Up-potted in May, continued to thrive. Snipped off an unwanted leader (not the top apical leader; see very rough drawing) roughly three weeks later. Growth slowed somewhat but not unexpected. Substrate is free-draining Bonsai Jack's soil (zero puddling or overflow; straight through). No smell of root rot; no fungus gnats. Thank you peeps!