Watering on Vacation

Fender0327

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi,

I recently bought a small Juniper. I am going on vacation in July. I am not really friendly with my neighbors, as I'm new to the block. Can anyone suggest methods for watering my bonsai? I don't want it to die. I will be gone for a week.

bonhe

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi,

I recently bought a small Juniper. I am going on vacation in July. I am not really friendly with my neighbors, as I'm new to the block. Can anyone suggest methods for watering my bonsai? I don't want it to die. I will be gone for a week.

Hi Fender0327, I don't know how small your juniper is. If it is too small, you can place it under the misty system. Otherwise, the drip system is ok for it. I have more than 100 small and giant bonsai and prebonsai. Every time I'm going to vacation, I put them under care of drip system and misty system 3 times a day, 10 minutes in the morning and at 5pm and 3 minutes at noon where the trees receive full sun all day long! and twice a day where the trees only receive morning sun. It worked fine for me who is living in the Inland Empire (really hot and dry in the summer). Good luck.
Bonhe

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Placing it in the shade will also help slow the drying out of the soil from the hot sun. That is, if you have it outdoors, which you do have it outdoors, right?

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
Find a larger pot, maybe 3-4 times as large as your tree and pot, hopefully with just one small drainage hole (but it DOES need a drainage hole!). Fill it with sandbox sand. The night before you leave, saturate -- and I mean saturate -- the sand with water. Then, dig a hole deeper than the bonsai pot and bury your tree in the WET sand. Set both in the shade somewhere. Your tree should be fine for a week.

edprocoat

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone