Tool Decision - Ashinaga or Classic?

scottydog

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Need some help on deciding between ashinaga and classic shears. I'm a novice and have my first bonsai class later this month. I plan on only working with azalea, pines, and junipers with junipers being the focus. I don't like having no options but having too many is just as bad. The Wazakura kits I'm looking at don't have classic included. The have ashinaga and satsuki or ashinaga and twig. My question is are the classics better than ashinaga? I was thinking of asking them to swap out the ashinaga for a classic but only if its recommended. I have to admit I like the butterfly classics look...

This is what I'm looking at

Would that be a good beginners kit?

Last edited:
My guess is that if you have not used any other it won't matter.
I have always used the larger handle classic style as root shears and the smaller handles for twigs but there's probably not much advantage to either as you are still just using pressure from thumb to oppose the fingers to make cuts.
If there was a compelling reason for the classic over ashinaga I'm sure Wazakura would have classic in the kits.

Not really a fan of buying "complete" tool kits. They're like killing a fly with a shotgun. You're not going to use half of what's presented there for a long while. Concave cutters, one nice pair of shears in the medium size range possibly some wire cutters. About all you need unless you have a dozen advanced trees. Opt for basic tools. Wouldn't go for fancy. See how those work. See what you actually need as you work on your trees. Add as needed down the road.

I think that 6 piece set is a good start, it has
Wire cutters and pliers both needed for repotting
Concave and a branch cutter, both good for their different cutting styles
2 kinds of shears, fine and a bit heavier.
One could argue you don't need the heavier one but the fine are good for fine pruning the medium for a bit bigger twigs.