Styling Help 3-4-Year-Old JBP

turnyface

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Could use a little help. The first image is what I'm after (an old looking informal upright). I know this will take decades to achieve and I'm new to the scene, but don't know what I should do with the tree I have.

1. Do I let it grow and up pot next year to thicken the trunk?
2. Do I do a trunk chop the leader and let it grow all next year?

I don't see any branches on the apical leader other than the top, so there's a lot of space between the lower branches and the top of the leader. Should I do anything about the lower branches or leave them to thicken the trunk?

One image includes some thoughts:

1. Chop off the red line in the fall
2. Blue arrow going up become the new trunk leader
3. Blue arrow going to the right is the first branch
4. Both yellow branches are sacrificial to help thicken up the trunk
5. I'd do some light wiring on the blue lead and branch this fall to train its position

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_0590.jpeg
    IMG_0590.jpeg
    131.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0967.jpeg
    IMG_0967.jpeg
    184.3 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0966.jpeg
    IMG_0966.jpeg
    205.4 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0965.jpeg
    IMG_0965.jpeg
    141.8 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0963.jpeg
    IMG_0963.jpeg
    186.9 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0964.jpeg
    IMG_0964.jpeg
    193.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0967 edit.jpeg
    IMG_0967 edit.jpeg
    217.3 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
Greetings!

This tree is on the start of an 8-10 year voyage if done properly…. Depending upon the size tree desired.

At this point, do nothing. Let the leader go for the next couple years. No worries about the leader not having branches at this point. For sure down the line it will be chopped and another branch will take its place… perhaps the larges of the smaller branches.