Questions on this malus...

Fidur

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
So I made an impulse purchase,

IMG20240721092128.jpg IMG20240721092109.jpg IMG20240721091641.jpg

and paid 100€ for this malus sylvestris (a variety called here everest). It is labelled as 14 years old, though I think that was 2 years ago. This variety has white (pinkish) flowers and produces little reddish apples:

malus-manzano-everest_7459802_49150864.jpg malus-manzano-everest_7459802.jpg

I think this one was field grown as prebonsai, establishing the trunk line, but not the branch structure.

So my questions are,
a) Did I pay too much?. It is the first time I've been able to buy a malus, and maybe I rushed too much.
b) When to repot and trim roots?
c) I am very tempted to chop the trunk ( at the end of the "s" shape) and rebuild the tree for a fresh start....would you?

I have no experience with this species, and would appreciate any tip on its horticultural development and general care.
Anyway, I know that this tree looks a bit awful right now, but I think I can develop a nice bonsai out of it in the next 2 or 3 years (though maybe I'm a bit over optimistic in this case) if I make the right moves....

A) It has quite a substantial trunk, I cant speak to the economic differences between the US and Spain... but you would pay far more stateside for a trunk of that caliper, generally. 100 euro seems like a fairly good purchase to me.
B) For the majority of species a repotting/root prune in spring as buds are pushing is best practice. Exact dates/month would be very location contextual, as zone 12 likely is hitting its spring flourish well earlier than most represented USDA zones on this forum.
C) Its absolutely a little bit "commercial", not quite as much of a high crime on a species you grow for flowers and fruit. If you're looking to build a bonsai that is critically superior and has more individuality, I say go for it!