Portulacaria afra - semi cascade

boguz

Mame
Reaction score
Hi guys.
I have been looking for an afra for along time, and finally got this last sunday.
It was looking messy, and i wanted to try a semi-cascade style.
I am new in bonsai but searching/ reading about it a lot.
So, what do you think about it, any advice?

IMG_3067.JPG IMG_3071.JPG

f1pt4

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I hope you kept at least some of your cuttings.

Good starter tree that's for sure. Tough to kill it, just give it lots of light.

Where are you located?

Geo

Chumono
Reaction score
Todos Santos,Baja Sur Elev56M 23.46N 110.24W
USDA Zone
11+
8_pedro_morales_portulacari.jpg

boguz

Mame
Reaction score
I hope you kept at least some of your cuttings.

Good starter tree that's for sure. Tough to kill it, just give it lots of light.

Where are you located?
Yes, i kept all the cuttings actually :) I want to try a "forest style" in the future if they survive.
I from a very hot climate actualy (izmir, turkey), it doesnt drop below zero mostly even in winters so i guess i dont need to keep it inside.

Yes Geo, its exactly what i saw while trimming it. But i guess i need a lot of time and practice to achive something like this :)

lieuz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Wow, like everyone has mentioned, judging by your picture; you have a lot of cuttings for sure. Nice little specimen :cool:. I'll say that when you wire tree up, be careful and be forceful at the same time. When I styled my tree it a gentle touch but a lot of force to get this guy into shape. I've been told and have seen myself, they take well to wire. Because they are fleshy they will plump right back up after a growing season with wire.

I have this pic floating around on here; but, here is my little tree. I didn't much give it any thought because it was something like $3 and had no idea what it would become. After a growing season it showed really nice signs of promise! Time frame is about almost 1.5 years.