Pomagranate - Looking for some nutty suggestions

rollwithak

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hi Nutties,

Just removed my pomagranate air layer yesterday, wondering what you guys think and what you would do with this design? I’m fairly new to the “split trunk” so who best to ask!

Thank you in advance!!!

02A4DC85-742C-4E14-8A07-A40EA34DA43E.jpegF4464854-179D-41CF-B5DE-A910E1E25C70.jpeg42832F7F-7667-4646-954D-FE028A481C4E.jpeg56EED83A-04B1-426E-B12E-05C0F80A30FC.jpeg70B9FCB2-944D-4098-9A74-C86795E607CA.jpeg52FD0576-A63F-495A-8661-2048A5928697.jpeg

have you considered layering of the straight trunk?
Your mean just to make another formal upright tree? I would more than likely need to let these roots establish and get some strength going before considering that no? You’d just keep the curved side and abandon the twin trunk?

This is vaguely reminiscent of a twin trunk cottonwood I know of. One normal informal upright almost broom style trunk, the other apparently blown over in a storm, but still grew. Laid over until just above the ground, some pretty interesting curves in it. Haven't been out that way in quite some time, but I'll try to remember to get a pic next time I am. It looks cooler than I describe it.

This is vaguely reminiscent of a twin trunk cottonwood I know of. One normal informal upright almost broom style trunk, the other apparently blown over in a storm, but still grew. Laid over until just above the ground, some pretty interesting curves in it. Haven't been out that way in quite some time, but I'll try to remember to get a pic next time I am. It looks cooler than I describe it.
Yeah this was just off a branch of a tree that was growing into the walkway, so I did a layer around an area that had somewhat of some interest, there wasn’t a lot of options…. Would love to see your picture if you ever get it, sounds like a cool tree!!