Not another soil thread

jdutton24

Seedling
Reaction score
Im new to bonsai. Just purchased a kishu juniper and corkbark elm. I have read and watched i dont know how many video and articles on soil. Lets just say I need a little guidance where to start. I live in central Alabama. roughly zone 8A/7B depending on map. I need some soil with a little moisture retention since summers are extremely humid and very hot. I watched several videos of a guy in the UK named Peter Chan. He uses Orchid bark Akadama pumice and sphagnum peat moss. I'm really thinking this might be the best to start with at least for my climate. I know some people use Pine bark which I can get easily but ive read that pine bark actually leeches nutrients from the soil as it breaks down. Is this true? Most nurseries locally use pine bark and perlite with little bit of moss. I assume mainly its cheap and works well enough. Ive looked at pre made bonsai soils and most say calcined clay not akadama. I know they are similar but im not sure calcined clay is as good as akadama. I fully expect to mess up and probably lose the trees but ive had good success with around 20 japanese maples which is kind of how I find myself in the predicament! please lend me your wisdom and guidance!

Many soils work. There is no secret formula. If I had to use pine bark and perlite, I would do so happily. Maybe add a good dollop of diatomaceous earth (Napa #8822). Ask what fellow bonsai enthusiasts use in your area. Joining the local club is always a good idea.

Loca club is about an hour away and from what I can see not super active unfortunately

All depends on how much you spend on a tree, a pot, and how many different frac groups in fungicide you are willing to pay for, that will determine the price of your chosen substrate.
Cheapo tip of the day - lump charcoal, buy a big bag, run it over with truck several times and sift.
Alabama may require special Maine lobster chitin though.