Newbie on the Loose

ERIKA

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi folks... I became interested about Bonsai just over a year ago but I still have no hands-on training so I just rely on articles that are available on the internet. As a beginner I resisted the urge to purchase pricey pre-bonsai plants in the fear that I might just kill it and waste my money so I opted on saplings and rooted cuttings instead. I joined local Facebook Bonsai clubs and they have been very helpful but seminars and workshops in our area are very seldom so I am still practically "untrained" and have been working on my projects unsupervised... I came to realize that my lack of knowledge and training gave me the freedom to explore the art and experiment on my plants... The photos below are just few of what i am working on (saplings of course). Bougainvillea.jpgCalliandra 2.jpgCalliandra.jpgCamellia.jpgHibiscus.jpgSchefflera.jpg

I have just acquired few pre-bonsai materials because I think I'm now ready to step-up my bonsai journey... One of the photos shows a trophy along side a Calliandra specimen which I bravely entered into a competition which luckily unbelievably won a Bronze award under the Novice category...

Bonsaihead

Mame
Reaction score
Welcome to the site! I'm a newbie as well and probably been on the site for half a year or so and I feel I'm light years ahead of where I'd be if I never joined this community. I've learned so much here! Like you I don't have much more to rely on other then the internet, YouTube, books, and my hands. This place has been a HUGE help in my Journey. More so then any other Avenue of learning. Books second. Other than here I think books are superior to the internet in bonsai. I'm reading a super awesome book called the principles of bonsai design by David De root. I highly recommend it! Funny someone on here told me about it. It's definitely the best one I've read so far. I do really like Adam Lavignes blog,