New to bonsai and need advice on a Blue Star Juniper

rjr9603

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I am new to bonsai and bought a Blue Star from the clearance section of my local nursery. It had a fair amount of broken branches and a split in the trunk. I cleared the truck and limbs to see what I have to work with. I wired the split back together.

Not sure what to do now or what direction to take it. Should I remove any of the remaining branches? Any advice is appreciated.

Blue Star 1.jpgBlue Star 2.jpgBlue Star 3.jpgBlue Star 4.jpgBlue Star 5.jpg

Welcome

You should put this tree in a sunny spot outside and do nothing but water it until next year. Mulch it in against the foundation of your house if you get winter temperatures below freezing

I wired the split back together.
Had the split occurred in your hands and you did this immediately, it might stand a chance of healing over but always a weak point thereafter.

Next time you get a nursery plant, which is great to do, remove foliage from the tree from the outside in, rather than from the inside out.
Blue star foliage is too heavy for the branches they have for me.

Impressed with the wiring for being new to the hobby. The wire however, is it annealed? Learning wiring with copper is commendable. Just know it's easier damage and kill branches with copper as you're learning the curve so to say. Your spiraling at greater than 45 degrees, priceless 👍

My Blue Star took a fall the first year I had it and had a branch split halfway off from the trunk that successfully healed by binding with electrical tape, just depends how quickly you get to it.