My Tortured Dwarf Alberta Spruce (#1) - Dead or Alive

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
The initial photo: (Fall 2023)
IMG_8943.jpeg

After initial pruning: (and gouging away at a massive whorl on the trunk)
IMG_3121.jpeg

After I went mad and trunk chopped at the site of the whorl (it was an adrenaline rush):
IMG_3122.jpeg

Sometime during Winter:
IMG_3112.jpeg

Most recent:
IMG_3116.jpeg
IMG_3117.jpeg

I’m not experienced in identifying and determining viable buds, but I see some on almost all the branches, so I’ll see what happens in the coming weeks:
IMG_3119.jpeg
IMG_3118.jpeg
IMG_3120.jpeg

I threw in a small amount of granular 10-10-10 fertilizer yesterday. I don’t know what to expect but made my peace with the tree over Winter in case it is not recoverable.

Last edited:
it's already dead - the needles last much longer even after the tree has given up the gas. Where did you keep it in winter and did you water it?

it's already dead - the needles last much longer even after the tree has given up the gas. Where did you keep it in winter and did you water it?
Outside and watered yes. Maybe I’ll practice crushing, tearing, stripping off bark and deadwood creation 😇

Hmm.. yeah doesn't look happy at all. Too much too soon. If it has any chance to recover i would remove that wire. From what I understand Spruce requires patience. Also not advisable to fertilize a sick or recovering tree. Get another one and try again but slow it down Amigo. 😉

I have 6 others, this was pushing to the limit to see how far the tree could go. I browsed some old posts from people who pushed theirs even further back in 2014 or around that time and theirs died also. It was experimental (I had 3 others along with this one so I wouldn’t be left without one lol)

Yeah it a game a patience with these guys, took 7 years with mine
- year 1 just repot and remove branches you down need ( if your lucky you can repot and wire all in one go)