My Old Man Treatise

DeanoAZ

Yamadori
Reaction score
I have been on here just a relatively short time and there is a lot of information and opinions available for someone working in bonsai. What I am wondering is how many of you out there are like me:

- I’m a typical (I believe) 78 year old retiree
- I’m like a lot of you and have to manage our money to make it last to the end
- I was an engineer, by education and occupation
- My life is filled with RC airplane flying, yard work, home maintenance, reading and bonsai (very little TV)
- The bones and muscles have started to fail on me like most of us old farts
- I live in the Desert Southwest which limits available bonsai tree candidates
- I like growing things, bonsai or garden

Given those facts and limitations, I believe I have a limited scope of interest with bonsai. I won’t be around to see my JBP seedling live to have a 3” caliper trunk and I won’t be purchasing very much that size anytime soon, unless I mortgage my house. I won’t be heading up into the high country digging anything up, since I have a problem just getting up off the floor when I have to be down there. Besides, all the shoulder surgeries I have had have left me unable to even lift up a 5 gallon bottle of water.

Putting all the above together, and having been an engineer, I tend to focus on the process itself. I like the process of repotting; I like the process of shaping/trimming the tree; I like the process of trying to get a seed to produce a seedling; I like the discipline of watering/fertilizing; I like the process of trying to get moss to grow in this dry country. But when all the processes are done, I just sit there, waiting for things to happen and stare at my plants, which I probably won’t see turn into anything.