My Battle to repot with a Giant Sequoia Nursery Stock

BenBSeattle

Sapling
Reaction score
I Found this Sequoia Giganteum (Sequoiadendron giganteum ) at a local Nursery here in Washington State. The staff person told me it was brought in by a customer and needed a new pot desperately.
The battle that ensued to get it into a Bonsai Pot nearly broke me. =)

The lower bottom of the root ball was harder than Cement. The branches are pretty leggy but I hope that this tree back buds. Does Anyone have experience of this occurring?

I scrolled a bit through the video, did you check where the root base is before you started sawing?
Because from that patch of cement, it looks like you might have cut the trunk itself instead of a taproot.

Feeder roots in confined situations grow in all directions and can overgrow the original base. Just putting my concerns out there.

Nice job, or rather what a job! Repotting that beast.

I have no experience with sequoia, and whether or not they back bud. I suspect the branches will, I doubt much new will come from the trunk.

Metasequoia is the only redwood hardy in my area. They are fun, and backbud some, but not as easily as Bald Cypress. Of coarse other than being distant relatives, Metasequoia experience does not translate to Sequoiadendron experience.

I really enjoyed your fig fruit evaluation videos, they were fun. Eventually I will get a fig or two growing here.

I actually saw some of your video the other day. I have a giant sequoia in my back yard and it throws buds from pruned branches so it should back bud.
I agree with cutting to much off the root base at the start. Sometimes it’s fine but I have cut roots just like that and wound up with no roots. Since that time I start at about the halfway or lower point and work my way up. You might also find more taper etc.
Also I make sure I have a reciprocating saw with a Fresh 12” pruning blade before I even start on a job like this.