Mugo borer?

f1pt4

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
IMG_7681.JPG IMG_7682.JPG I was watering my trees and I noticed an unusual bark flaking of a mugo I've been working on for the past 3 years.

I gently lifted the flaking bark and it feel off with a couple more pieces.

I noticed some damage. I don't know what it is. Any help would be appreciated

The thickness of the trunk at that part is about 1.5-2".

Thank you for your help.

f1pt4

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I thought so too, but that wound wasn't exposed. It was bulging. I pretty much just touched the bark and it fell off and exposed what you see in the photo. And I noticed a dark like soft sawdust? In there as well. Every time g. Damn squirrels attack my trees, esp. apples they just chew through the bark. This looks different than the usual squirrel attacks I'm accustomed to.

Arcto

Chumono
Reaction score
Here is a Lodgepole Pine killed by pine beetle borers. You can see the borer tunneling and sawdust where the bark was pulled away.IMG_1587.JPG One of my collected Lodgepoles showing telltale ign of a beetle attack. The tree oozes sap from the beetle hole in an attempt to push the beetle and its eggs out. IMG_1584.JPG

f1pt4

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Here is a Lodgepole Pine killed by pine beetle borers. You can see the borer tunneling and sawdust where the bark was pulled away.View attachment 150241 One of my collected Lodgepoles showing telltale ign of a beetle attack. The tree oozes sap from the beetle hole in an attempt to push the beetle and its eggs out. View attachment 150240

Ugh. I feared as much. :(. So am I fackucked or is there something that can be done/applied? I haven't noticed any full on bores (holes) I also don't want to remove any more of the nice flakey bark if I don't have to. It's on the main trunk too so it's not as if I could cut it off.... sigh.

Arcto

Chumono
Reaction score