MTM Bald Cypress progression thread

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I'm starting a progression thread on the Bald Cypress I bought from @Cajunrider (CR) in early March of 2024. Here's a picture of when it was posted for purchase, I'd already saw the quality BC trees CR was working with, and once I saw this one I had to have it. Fit my size & price range, and looked a thousand times better than the ones around here. :) This is my first time working with any BC. Critiques are welcome.

1719797145502.png
Bought a bus tub and potted it up in the same type of pot it left.

1719797926374.png

After delivery I repotted it into some Miracle Grow garden soil, pine bark, & some Vermiculite. March 7th 2024. I buried the root flair like CR said to encourage root growth.

1719798277372.png

May the 4th be with me, every thing looks healthy, and I'm planning to carve the flat top.

1719799019685.png

Two weeks later May 19th.
1719800322418.png

Choose my front & started planning the path to flat top BC. Got the marker out and used CR advice on how to carve this out.
1719800587039.png

The Front.
1719800473709.png

Back.

1719800668066.png

At this point Cajun Rider suggested I clean up the deep soil around the root flare I put it in upon arrival, & CR walked me through the carving process.

1719800855468.png
1719801074560.png

You can see where I nicked the old scar here.
PXL_20240519_204921199.jpg

Here's most of the tools I used. I tried not to leave big gouges with the carving tools. I used a bigger hand saw & my drill with a wood carving paddle attachment to get started (not pictured)
I carved with the wood handle tools quite a bit, it should look roughed up a bit a guess. Not bad attempt as I've never done that before I'll let it heal a bit and go from there. :)

PXL_20240519_191908611.jpg

Right now I'm just gradually working the V shape in. Thunder storms rolled in so I didn't finish the right side at this time.

1719803801264.png