Longer term strategy for Citrus trifoliata (Hardy Orange/Flying Dragon)

jkennedy2316

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I recently discovered this species and immediately decided I had to have one. As a true beginner, I am not in a huge rush to hack this guy down and stick it into a bonsai pot. Happy to let this one develop slowly over time while I practice on more readily available/cheaper nursery stock. My plan was to plant it to let it develop more. Instead of planting straight in the ground, my idea was to plant in a large DIY planter box I made from pallets. I filled the bottom with landscape fabric but have not filled in the soil yet. I have some questions.

In terms of soil, I have heard conflicting advice in terms of the best soil mix to encourage trunk and root development. Some say plant directly into bonsai soil - even if not repotting to a bonsai pot - to develop nibari, while others say a more organic matter heavy soil is better for developing larger roots/trunk if not in a bonsai pot. I am nowhere near qualified enough to choose wrong from right here. Should I fill my planter box with regular potting mix or with a porous bonsai mix?

In terms of long-term development, my first inclination was work overtime towards a single trunk via pruning. I have since received some inspiration from "clump style" bonsai and thought that could also be an option. Clump style or single trunk? Or just stick it in some soil and decide later?

If a single trunk is recommended, should I wait to do that pruning until the plant has well-recovered from repotting (i.e. years from now)? Should that type of heavy pruning down to a single trunk be done incrimentally or in one fel swoop?

Attachments

• 20240806_115621.jpg
    20240806_115621.jpg
    355 KB · Views: 19
  • 20240806_115607.jpg
    20240806_115607.jpg
    405.9 KB · Views: 20
  • 20240806_115614.jpg
    20240806_115614.jpg
    381.6 KB · Views: 20