KingJades' Jades Progression (and Portulacaria's too!)

Should I Make a Real Jades/Portulacaria/Bonsai Blog?

• Yes, I will be the only person who reads it.

Votes: 5 71.4%
  • No, you suck and we don't care.

Votes: 3 42.9%

• Total voters

KingJades

Shohin
Reaction score
I decided to start a progression page to track my Portularia and Jades progressions. I don't exactly have a ton of trees and they're all starting out. I'm relatively new to bonsai, which essentially means that I have no clue what I'm doing. However, I do have a deep love of biology and an engineering degree so hopefully I can keep a plant or two alive. Also, jades are hella hard to kill but I will successfully kill them along the way. You've been warned.

This thread will be blog-style. Depending on if people care or are remotely interested, maybe one day I'll start a real jades blog. Doesn't seem like anyone is doing that. If you know of anyone doing that, let me know. I NEED TO READ IT. But, no one cares what I have to say or what I do so it won't ever actually matter.

I'll number my trees and number the posts to try to organize one tree's story from another. It might be hard to follow since all of the trees get mixed in the same progression. Just follow the numbers. New trees will be added along the way.

I sell plants on Craigslist (mostly trees that I don't think have a future in bonsai) and cuttings, so don't be shocked if we see plants go away and phase new plants in as we continue on. I also sell cuttings for reasonable fun and profit. Succulents are all the rage right now. Lots of college kids + a fad = $$$$$. :)

My cuttings will one day allow me to finance a real tree! Or at least buy some cool pots.

Let's get on with it! Feel free to interrupt, ask questions, give advice, or call me an idiot for what I do.

Last edited:
Tree #1