Juniperus horizontalis "blue rug" advice

Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello everyone. I am new to bonsai and to this site. I'm a carpenter by trade but have always loved bonsai and decided to give it a try this year. I live in Baltimore Maryland.

I picked up this blue rug juniper while on vacation in Hilton Head back in May. When I got it home I did a very light pruning of any weak/dead foliage and anything growing straight down. About a month later I potted it into this training box and have done nothing but water and feed since then. It seems to have stayed very healthy and put on some growth since then.

Originally I envisioned it as a semi cascade with the 2 right branches being jinned. Recently though I am starting to think it may be a much more interesting tree if I were to change the angle to create an informal upright.

Being new to bonsai, I am having trouble seeing the tree within the tree. Anyone have any input or advice? I don't plan on doing anything else to it this year. I would like to decide between semi cascade or upright over the winter so I can report it upright in spring if that's the direction I decide to go. Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to read this and contribute their opinion.

Attachments

• IMG_0432.JPG
    IMG_0432.JPG
    276 KB · Views: 162
  • IMG_0433.JPG
    IMG_0433.JPG
    333 KB · Views: 153
  • IMG_0435.JPG
    IMG_0435.JPG
    328.7 KB · Views: 140
  • IMG_0436.JPG
    IMG_0436.JPG
    252 KB · Views: 152
  • IMG_0438.JPG
    IMG_0438.JPG
    252.3 KB · Views: 153

defra

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Angle at last pic is good!
Just put a wedge underneath the pot and dont do the repot next spring cus you repotted this year already so its unnessecary !
Keeping it alive well done!

Welcome to bnut!

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I've been there and am still doing that.