Juniper drying out - any hope?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I have a Brussels green mound juniper, I've had for about a month. (I checked - Amazon delivered on May 24) I've been watering and trying to care for it... It spent the first few days inside, and my backyard has more shade than sun. I water at least once a day - usually more, between misting from a bottle or from the hose or watering can. But it's browning from the inside out. I'm VERY new to bonsai, aside from a maple I've been trying to train and shape to my will for quite some time.

I checked for spider mites, didn't see anything moving, but gave it a light insecticide mist, and a haircut to get rid of the dryest needles.

We have had terrible heat (northern Virginia) in the last week or so.

Is my first "real" bonsai doomed so quickly?

Attachments

• PXL_20240627_221657855.jpg
    PXL_20240627_221657855.jpg
    286.1 KB · Views: 33
  • PXL_20240627_221643825.MP.jpg
    PXL_20240627_221643825.MP.jpg
    248.6 KB · Views: 32
You're overcaring for it.

Probably too much water. That pot with the incurved lip means there's less surface area on top. That increases water retention below. Misting doesn't help, but does inhibit transpiration of water from the foliage, adding to the water issues at the roots. The soil looks pretty heavy in organics, which stay wet.

I'm in Va. as well. I've been watering once or twice a day, depending on wind, humidity and need. Shade and shielding pots from sun are more effective at keeping roots cooler than constant watering. Trees slow down when heat stressed, as well, which can mean they're using less water.

Stop with the insecticide mist. Insecticidal oils can harm some conifers as well, particularly in the heat.