JBP browning needles- cause?

schoolpizza

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Apologies because I know there's other threads about this but I am hoping for some veteran opinions on my specific case because I can't clearly determine the problem.

I am new to pines and got this pretty nice JBP less than two weeks ago. It's in a bag with some potting soil-like mix, which I know isn't good, but I thought should be fine until a repot next season. Only things I've done are cut off one front facing branch and pour in half a scoop of osmocote plus because the tree seemed to be in perfect health.

Just now I noticed a large amount of needles have browned, mostly older ones but some from last years growth. I can't believe I somehow hurt this tree so quickly. I am guessing either overwatering, overfertilization, or some kind of fungus (needle cast)? I am in Maryland, zone 7a, and it's had full sun before and after purchase.

What does it look like to you all, and what can I do? The parts of the tree I want to use are still green but I'm in despair right now over this damn thing tanking so quickly.

Attachments

• PXL_20240326_221810063.jpg
    PXL_20240326_221810063.jpg
    364.9 KB · Views: 108
  • PXL_20240326_221803752.jpg
    PXL_20240326_221803752.jpg
    234.9 KB · Views: 104

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Th brown needles in the centre are almost certainly old needles at the end of life. JBP needles have a 3 year life span. After 3 years the tree turns them off, they go brown and drop - usually in summer but sometimes a little earlier. Sometimes stress makes them go a bit earlier.

Most of the new needles look pretty good in the overall pic. assuming the closer shot is only one branch going brown? I can't see that on the wider shot.