Japanese Black Pine Help

Reaction score
USDA Zone
P
What is up my fellow bonsai enthusiasts. I am somewhat new to bonsai and have tended to drift towards Japanese black pine. I have two 5 year old (I think) JPB in pots that are healthy and growing. I bought 7 from a local and they have been doing ok; I think/ hope after wiring and transferring back in early July. I apologize if this has been answered in a previous thread but how can I speed up the growing and the thickening of the trunk on these JBP?? How long does it take for the needles to sprout? The person told me to fertilize them once a month until October. Any insight would be helpful!
PS I’m in SoCal

Attachments

• IMG_1453.jpeg
    IMG_1453.jpeg
    415 KB · Views: 58
  • IMG_1443.jpeg
    IMG_1443.jpeg
    382.8 KB · Views: 50
  • IMG_1444.jpeg
    IMG_1444.jpeg
    391.1 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_1445.jpeg
    IMG_1445.jpeg
    367.6 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_1446.jpeg
    IMG_1446.jpeg
    382.8 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_1448.jpeg
    IMG_1448.jpeg
    438.6 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG_1449.jpeg
    IMG_1449.jpeg
    361.2 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_1450.jpeg
    IMG_1450.jpeg
    369.9 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_1451.jpeg
    IMG_1451.jpeg
    431.3 KB · Views: 37
  • IMG_1454.jpeg
    IMG_1454.jpeg
    474.4 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_1455.jpeg
    IMG_1455.jpeg
    519 KB · Views: 61
Welcome Aboard BonsaiNut!

So there are many trees in those images. All are in different states. Best thing to do will be to create a sacrifice leader on top, give these trees decent sun, proper water and fertilize to the maximum possible consistent with good health.

The buds in those images appear to be second flush. One can expect these to elongate early next year and push needles in late spring…. This time will vary by location.

Cheers
DSD sends

How long does it take for the needles to sprout?