Italian Cypress from Nursery (newer to Bonsai)

dalberti

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Hello everyone,

This is my second topic on this forum. My first one explained that I am very new to the art of Bonsai, but I am very willing to learn. I've been reading like crazy the past few months and I have bought a Dawn Redwood Bonsai a few weeks ago and I am watching it very closely like it's my baby (hey, I'm single, I've got to fill in the gaps somehow!)

Anyway, I bought an Italian Cypress from a local nursery here. I live in Southern Utah and it's about as hot as the sun right now so I cannot find any "common bonsai species" that are sold. There's quite a bit of information on the Italian Cypress for Bonsai, but I'd love to know opinions on starting one - specifically links to any helpful websites that I haven't been able to find. A lot are very basic and only have a couple sentences on how to start the journey.

Maybe I'm doing the searching the wrong way, I don't know, I'm very new.

I've purchased the plant and have just been monitoring water levels and have not done anything to it since buying it. This is why I'm posting here for any information or links that anyone can lead me to.

I was hesitant to post because it's slightly embarrassing to jump into a pool where you barely know how to swim and everyone else seems to be a pro! But I'd rather be embarrassed than to not learn at all.

Here are a couple of photo's that I quickly snapped.

Hope this helps, and I appreciate anyone who has read this.

Attachments

• IMG_1244.JPG
    IMG_1244.JPG
    260.7 KB · Views: 130
  • IMG_1245.JPG
    IMG_1245.JPG
    400.1 KB · Views: 125

JoeR

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Does the same nursery not have hinoki cypress for sale? My local lowes and walmart have them, the standard and some fancy cultivar I dont remember. I havent bought them because they are too expensive for not so large trunks but if you dig you could probably find one.

dalberti

Sapling