Is this a bonsai yet in the strictest Meaning??

MMJNICE

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
So I've been developing this windswept Boganvilia tree for the last 4 years from a 3 month old cutting I bought from a local nursery. It came in a pot with 4 or 5 rooted cuttings but I bought the pot for this one cutting you see here. I have since grown and wired every single primary branch and most of the secondary branches into the tree you see now. It has always been close to me because for two or three years it was Entirely grown indoors under my Watchful eye quickly Wiring each branch as it grew. So my question is when can I truly call this a bonsai that I created by myself? 5 years 10 years? Or was it a bonsai when I pot it into a small pot? All Input is noted no matter what your opinion on the subject..I'm interested in the opinions of others people that grow tree's like myself from seed ,,from less then Centimeter thick cuttings like this tree,,, or from nursery stock 🤔.. when do you call your tree a real bonsai???? What Parameters do you set for the inclusion of the name bonsai for your Material that you grow. And for viewing pleasure my boggie... I put rooting hormone around the base to try to get a more Radial root base but all it did was thicken the Existing roots more,,,and by Association the roots Around the existing roots began to grow but the effects seem pleasing to me so I guess it worked.. I also potted the tree in a pot I made from Hazelnut colored clay ,,,it was fired under cone 7 for a nice winter Worthy pot. I have a Pottery studio in my basement that I play around and make bonsai pots with for fun.. the two Hobbies kinda go hand in hand... so yea what's you two cents?

Attachments

• 20240712_011202.jpg
    20240712_011202.jpg
    174.8 KB · Views: 155
  • 20240711_235256.jpg
    20240711_235256.jpg
    156 KB · Views: 141
  • 20240712_011500.jpg
    20240712_011500.jpg
    139.4 KB · Views: 123
  • 20240712_011240.jpg
    20240712_011240.jpg