Is my tree dead?

Is my tree dead?

• Total voters

Andrew R.

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to bonsai and have some questions regarding my tree. I have a juniper, I believe. I was out of town last week and when I left for vacation my tree seemed perfectly healthy and green. I've had the tree for about four years and it's been pretty hardy and not too fussy at all in that time. I usually give it a bit of water everyday but have gone days without watering it before and it was perfectly fine. I've also left it just sitting where it always sits in my apartment for beyond a week and it has been fine those times too. However, when I came home yesterday after being gone for five days I discovered my tree to be a mostly brownish/gray color, with some vibrant green near the extremities, and the trunk seems to be fine though. I'll post some pics here. I live in Chicago, where it's been cold, and I'm wondering if the radiators blasting for days really dried it out or something. My other plants don't look to happy either. I guess I'm wondering whether or not my tree is dead and if it is not, what to do. Thanks in advance for any help.

Attachments

• qTjSkwRnQ%OnnrmABmjsEQ.jpg
    qTjSkwRnQ%OnnrmABmjsEQ.jpg
    209.9 KB · Views: 136
  • uw%WW%qSRb2yaTum+RX37w.jpg
    uw%WW%qSRb2yaTum+RX37w.jpg
    203.8 KB · Views: 131
  • T%h5XTBoSX6Ly4jT7H%nww.jpg
    T%h5XTBoSX6Ly4jT7H%nww.jpg
    276.5 KB · Views: 128
Well Junipers are outside plants, indoors there is insufficient light and home heating dries the air too much and add that to 5 days no water seems unlikely it will survive wet thew leaves and soak the soil place outside and hope for the best, it might live

Well... it is either totally or mostly dead, but you didn't need us to tell you that :)