Identifying a Crassula and a Ficus

Nefreia

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
First and foremost, I've finally decided to come out of the shadows. I've been stalking around this site for about a year now, made an account a month ago, and here we are today.

And second, I'm new to the bonsai world and trying to learn what I can as I go. I currently have two plants that I'm trying to keep alive: some sort of crassula ovata and some sort of ficus. My setup is very lame right now, as I'm currently renovating a home and building up my bonsai toolbag. So, my plants are displayed on a lovely cardboard box between two windows and under a light and are probably both in need of a repot.

I'd like an ID on both, if anyone would be so kind.
The c. ovata was sold as a "Red Horn Tree", but I don't see it. I'm guessing some kind of Hobbit/Gollum mix, but I'm unsure as many of the leaves look very different from one to the next.
The ficus was sold as a "Retusa", aka "Banyan Fig" and "Taiwan Ficus". It has the tiger bark, but from everything I have read, there are many, many names for ficus (in my case, maybe a "mallsai" would also be relevant), so I am having some issues figuring it out.

Anyway, I appreciate any help with this and any other suggestions you may have. Also, please try not to critique (too much) my awful wiring job and any other newbie issues I have going on. I'm definitely a work in progress....😅

Attachments

• 20230122_153925.jpg
    20230122_153925.jpg
    101.8 KB · Views: 112
  • 20230130_102105.jpg
    20230130_102105.jpg
    231 KB · Views: 99
Welcome! With the C. Ovata it's hard to tell. I'm sure you're well aware they do best in full sun. They will typically get red highlights when you get them out in full summer sun. Once you replant it and get it outside when it warms up I think it will be easier to tell what it is.