I think I’m Bonsaing wrong, but it feels so “right”

Trigobontree

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Hello everyone!
I know that one of the biggest beginner mistakes is over styling trees. So I haven’t styled too much yet, but from what I have done, I don’t think I’m doing it the “correct” way. But I’m ok with that. I’m trying to follow the rules, but for the most part I’m just trimming and bending where I think it looks good. Like my Brush Cherry which was in a broom style when I got it but I’ve been slowly transforming into a…I don’t even know. But I thought it was boring the way it was and you couldn’t see any branches. So I started playing and I found this spiral kind of pattern that I’ve been going with. Now the Premna I will preface by saying it was wild when I got it and I liked that, but the wild didn’t feel purposeful to me. So I did my first wiring attempt last night (yes, I know it’s atrocious) to bring out the wildness even more, but in a more pleasing and interesting way, at least to me. Curious to see what others thoughts are or if anyone has any suggestions. I have lots of other plants too, but these were just the 2 I’ve styled the most so far.

A little backstory: I’m fairly new to Bonsai. I wanted a hobby and although I normally kill any plant I touch, I decided I was going to try Bonsai. Turns out that I really really love it. So much so that I purchased a little 6x4 greenhouse that will be arriving in the next few days. I did and am still doing a lot of research, this site popped up a lot and was very useful during my google searches so I figured I’d create an account and join in on the fun!

Attachments

• AB6D4CA3-9149-4F84-BF04-1219848CD8F2.jpeg
    AB6D4CA3-9149-4F84-BF04-1219848CD8F2.jpeg
    232.3 KB · Views: 157
  • 2AD8A355-9255-4E02-9AF7-AA183C3A8A4C.jpeg
    2AD8A355-9255-4E02-9AF7-AA183C3A8A4C.jpeg
    257.4 KB · Views: 152
Last edited: