How much freeze is ok?

Alfa0015

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello,
I got a Satsuki Azalea bonsai this week. I am a student so I live in a dorm, there’s no cold storage where I can keep my bonsai. I live in oklahoma 7b. What I did is that I opened a bit the window and put the bonsai inside of a box, the box wall facing the window is open, so the bonsai can get cold. I put some hats on it and dirt around. Today I checked the soil and it was frozen. Is that ok? I have a thermometer and I am constantly checking that it doesn’t go below -5C or 23 F. If so, I just close more the window. Is it ok for bonsai soil to freeze or what should I do?
Thank you!

Attachments

• B2197518-296A-4C2D-B507-268168A47224.jpeg
    B2197518-296A-4C2D-B507-268168A47224.jpeg
    231.5 KB · Views: 20
  • FFD047CD-B9AC-4327-9D86-65A60610A479.jpeg
    FFD047CD-B9AC-4327-9D86-65A60610A479.jpeg
    86.5 KB · Views: 19
  • 4B91E9C5-818C-4470-8D9B-A67911EC644E.jpeg
    4B91E9C5-818C-4470-8D9B-A67911EC644E.jpeg
    196.5 KB · Views: 18
  • 8413AE37-43B6-4A93-AE2C-48B1D8CB3960.png
    8413AE37-43B6-4A93-AE2C-48B1D8CB3960.png
    286 KB · Views: 19
Not so good for most satsuki. Each cultivar has a different tolerance to cold. Freezing the roots through is not the best thing for a small satsuki. They generally can taken the occasional light freeze of the outer edge of the pot.

But I like the way you tried to stick it in a larger reservoir of media. Hope is has drainage. Bigger would be better, say a 2gal nursery container. Cut down 1/3 and fill as before. Then toss something under for drainage.

The good news is they seem to be able to skip dormancy for a year ok. Especially below 60F.

Let the tree unfreeze slowly if it hasn’t already. Then see if if it can survive in the window.

The big concerns indoors tend to be dehydration and fungus. So keep it in a drafty spot, mist and water during the morning but keep the soil moist but not wet.

cheers
DSD sends