Help please I’m a novice w/ a Zelkova Serrata

Reaction score
See attached photos many areas just don’t seem to want to leaf out
I get very long spindly branches that are not the look I wanting. And just recently gave it a big trim. Please note the rather bare areas these were mostly hidden under the branches I trimmed. I’d ultimately like rather tightly clustered leaves at the major branches. Note the outdoors photo is how the tree looked 18 months ago when I first received it.

Attachments

• IMG_3130.jpeg
    IMG_3130.jpeg
    452.3 KB · Views: 73
  • IMG_3137.jpeg
    IMG_3137.jpeg
    414.4 KB · Views: 63
  • IMG_3140.jpeg
    IMG_3140.jpeg
    323.3 KB · Views: 51
  • IMG_3139.jpeg
    IMG_3139.jpeg
    333.1 KB · Views: 48
  • IMG_3138.jpeg
    IMG_3138.jpeg
    310.4 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_3141.jpeg
    IMG_3141.jpeg
    439.9 KB · Views: 36
  • IMG_3142.jpeg
    IMG_3142.jpeg
    356.3 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_3144.jpeg
    IMG_3144.jpeg
    251.6 KB · Views: 26
  • IMG_3146.jpeg
    IMG_3146.jpeg
    265.4 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_3147.jpeg
    IMG_3147.jpeg
    301 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_3148.jpeg
    IMG_3148.jpeg
    349.2 KB · Views: 63
See attached photos many areas just don’t seem to want to leaf out
I get very long spindly branches that are not the look I wanting. And just recently gave it a big trim. Please note the rather bare areas these were mostly hidden under the branches I trimmed. I’d ultimately like rather tightly clustered leaves at the major branches. Note the outdoors photo is how the tree looked 18 months ago when I first received it.
More detail is needed. Is the tree being kept inside? for one.

One of the challenges seems to be that you keep the tree in a too dark location; The large leaves and long internodes indicate a lack of light.

Agree that this appears to be a Chinese elm. Often confused with zelkova, even by nurseries.