Help! New to willows

PlantsAndPaws

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello everyone! My name is Laura, and I’m happy I found this site, for I am a beginner and have some questions. Sometimes YouTube videos and google can be very overwhelming and not really addressing my specific questions. So my question to you is, what do I do with this willow??!! Although I have a few baby plants that I’ve grown from seed, I’m new to willows. I acquired a willow trimming that has grown quick in the past 6 months and I just don’t know what to do with it. Any and all suggestions and guidance is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Attachments

• C6B89B10-81C3-461F-8C8C-5DBD12530B05.jpeg
    C6B89B10-81C3-461F-8C8C-5DBD12530B05.jpeg
    230 KB · Views: 62
Best to choose different species. Willows are challenging bonsai subjects, as they tend to lose branches randomly and are not amenable to training. If you want to work on that willow, by all means, but don't consider it the centerpiece of your collection. You're almost certain to be disappointed, and we don't want beginners to get discouraged due to a poor selection of subject material.

Among deciduous species there are many elms that do extremely well, plus oaks, get yourself a bald cypress, American hornbeam, etc. Get as many trees as you can comfortably care for, so you don't love any of them to death.

Good luck!

I have a bit of willows going. I’ve enjoyed their progression.
I like to place them on/in a shallow tray of water. They like wet with free draining soil.

Don’t be afraid to prune back hard, and take cuttings.
They do drop branches from time to time, but usually on the newer growth.

While not detracting from what was stated above (which is indeed sound advice)... I’ll address the “if you are going to care for this willow” part.
:)
If you could provide a closer picture of the leaves (maybe bark) it will be a lot easier to help you with this identification.