HELP, im new to bonsai and I stuck knife blade down into the soil of my golden gate ficus before watering it with a fish fertilizer (liquid). 8 yrs.ol

Reaction score
My question is have I damaged the roots too bad for it to remain healthy? What should I do next? The golden gate ficus is setting close to a west facing window and it's been cloudy and rainy since I brought it home last Friday. I'm using a 5000k led light about 3ft above it and using a humidifier constantly so the humidity stays around 50%. Will it survive? What should I do next? Thanks for your advice! Scott Hilltop.

Attachments

• 20240408_173710.jpg
    20240408_173710.jpg
    127.8 KB · Views: 38
  • 20240408_173624.jpg
    20240408_173624.jpg
    149.4 KB · Views: 38
  • 20240408_173631.jpg
    20240408_173631.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 38

yashu

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4/5
Sticking a knife blade into the soil once shouldn’t really do any real damage. The question is are you doing this because the water is not percolating through the soil? If so then you probably need to repot into some better soil or deal with a root bound issue.

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
My question is have I damaged the roots too bad for it to remain healthy? What should I do next? The golden gate ficus is setting close to a west facing window and it's been cloudy and rainy since I brought it home last Friday. I'm using a 5000k led light about 3ft above it and using a humidifier constantly so the humidity stays around 50%. Will it survive? What should I do next? Thanks for your advice! Scott Hilltop.