Gifted a Bonzai kit.. questions about flame trees.

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to Bonzai and my wife bought me a kit online. 4 different species, Black Spruce, Colorado Blue, Brazilian Rosewood, and an African Flame tree… everything seems to be going splendid, but I have a question about my flame tree. Since I planted 3 seeds, two sprouted and one has started to die, I will attach a picture. My only question is when do I cut the one that is dead? I’m so excited to learn and create, and I’m glad I found this forum. Looking forward to my interactions here.

Attachments

• IMG_0837.jpeg
    IMG_0837.jpeg
    145.7 KB · Views: 41
If you want that lil one to survive you'll probably need to move it, looks like it's either not getting enough light or is just getting strangled out

I’m very nervous about moving it and disturbing the larger. I’m more worried about it affecting the larger.

Should I cut it at the soil or leave it? Aside from moving it.

Should I cut it at the soil or leave it? Aside from moving it.
Leaving it won't hurt anything necessary but cutting It will save you from watching it shrivel up, also probably a good choice not moving it.

Only other alternative I could offer is using a thin wire and shaping it to let the little fella get more light, might do that just to get some movement while it's young anyways, if you do that keep an eye on it so the wire doesn't Dig in

Unfortunately, you're going to have trouble growing trees inside. You're already experiencing some of the difficulties--low light, extremely low humidity, no air circulation. All are necessary for successful growth, particularly with some seedlings. Without adequate humidity, seedlings can dry out pretty quickly, as they haven't developed enough growth to withstand harsh conditions.