Fukien tea tree advice for total bonsai noob

Sabe

Seed
Reaction score
IMG_20240419_151847.jpgIMG_20240419_151438.jpgIMG_20240419_151128.jpgIMG_20240419_151048.jpgIMG_20240419_151847.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20240419_151155.jpg
    IMG_20240419_151155.jpg
    242.9 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_20240418_140350.jpg
    IMG_20240418_140350.jpg
    127.6 KB · Views: 13
(I'm such a noob I posted without the text...first post on a forum ever)
Hi everyone! I'm totally new to bonsai and just purchased this 8 year old Carmona. I have a ton of questions, and I'm worried sick that it'll die on me in a matter of weeks (days, even!).
1. Is it normal for some 10-15% of the leaves to be wrinkled like this? If not, what can it be due to and what action can I take?
View attachment 541454
2. I seem to have a reverse taper issue (if that's even the proper name for it) going on one of the upper branches...is there anywhere I could cut to prevent this from getting worse...or would loosing all that foliage be worse for the overall wellbeing of the plant?
View attachment 541455
3. Seems like I made a rookie mistake and got all excited with pruning (before and after pictures here) which I soon learned was a mistake (cuts can lead to disease? smaller trees like this one need that foliage to be healthy and grow?). I stopped as soon as I read that was a no no, but I also know that top part is pretty nuts with all the different branches...I'm ok with the aesthetics if the tree actually needs it to stay like this for a while, but considering that I don't really need the tree to grow much bigger (the plan is to keep it in that size pot, and to keep it small...my apt is tiny and I do prefer really small bonsai...if this one is in fact in maintenance stage, I could live with the trunk staying at that thickness level and just try to get a nice-looking canopy going). So, should I stop pruning? Or choose a main branch and get rid of all the tridents on the upper area?