Eastern Red Cedar

Joe Dupre'

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
ERC, or Cajun Rocky Mountain Juniper, as I like to call it. I've been eyeing this one for a couple of years. I've topped it a couple of times to discourage Christmas tree hunters. This is the first collection of the year. The bottom branches were buried........ growing among some of the roots. Base is a bit over 2". I left plenty of foliage to get it established. Pretty decent amount of small feeder roots. I did the right thing and filled in the hole and kicked a few leaves over the spot. The spot should disappear in a few months. And, yes, we have a$$holes that dump mattresses on the side of the road. Sigh.

unnamed (22).jpg

unnamed (23).jpg

unnamed (24).jpg

Joe Dupre'

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I like it. Could slanting work? Or do they make good formal uprights?
I didn't really look at it too closely today. Tomorrow, I'll put it on the turntable and eye it more closely. I would imagine that it will end up one half or even one third of its current height. I probably will just let it recover for the rest of the coming summer.

CaptColin

Sapling
Reaction score
I have been wondering with a tree this size, if grafting a few (or many) shimpaku scions to completely replace the ERC foliage would alleviate many of the traditional ERC concerns. seems like if this was a viable option there would be a basically infinite supply of trunks to use to create material. Anyone have any knowledge of grafting shimpaku onto ERC?

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I have been wondering with a tree this size, if grafting a few (or many) shimpaku scions to completely replace the ERC foliage would alleviate many of the traditional ERC concerns. seems like if this was a viable option there would be a basically infinite supply of trunks to use to create material. Anyone have any knowledge of grafting shimpaku onto ERC?