Crepe Myrtle Yamadori - branching/grafting advice

JustinSmith

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey Y'all,

This is my first bonsai project. I have a Crepe Myrtle that I collected from my Uncle's house when he sold it. The tree stood over 18 ft tall originally. I have continually cut back the trunk and roots over the past 4 years. I would now like to start training this tree and want to encourage branching in the lower section of the tree. The root system is healthy and has supported lots of shoots at the base of the tree. There are a handful of spots where branches are growing out of the larger trunk in the lower 10 inches or so but I would like to encourage growth throughout the rest of the trunk. I am open to advice as this is my first project.

Would y'all recommend grafting on a dwarf variety (red cherry dazzle) or even grafting on shoots from the same species (I have another plant with lots of shoots from a deadwood trunk from the same variety)? Where on the trunk would you suggest to graft on branches? What method should I use to graft? I've read that people have had success with thread grafting Crepe Myrtles, but again I'm open to advice.

Thank you in advance for your thoughts!

Attachments

• BonsaiMyrtle.jpg
    BonsaiMyrtle.jpg
    401.2 KB · Views: 109
  • BonsaiMyrtle2.jpg
    BonsaiMyrtle2.jpg
    453.6 KB · Views: 110

thumblessprimate1

Masterpiece
Reaction score
I'd worry about the nebari first before getting started on the branches.

JustinSmith

Seedling
Reaction score
There is a great root structure and some gnarly features that don't show up in the picture. I have some of the nebari under the soil as it is potted now. Thanks for the feedback, definitely interested in branching and developing the canopy now.

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
This is my first bonsai project. I have a Crepe Myrtle that I collected from my Uncle's house when he sold it.