Collected Crepe Myrtles - New and seeking any thoughts or advice.

Cammo

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I posted these over in the 2024 Yamadori thread as my first comment, and was advised to come over here and make my first proper post. So here I am.

I collected these about 6 weeks back from a facebook marketplace listing that needed some trees removed from their fenceline. I think despite the fair amount of effort spent, I made out like a bandit. Some really impressive trunks as well as visible roots (although you can't see them super great in these photos.) I was worried they weren't gonna make it but in less than 2 months they went from bones to a fair amount of growth. Middle of summer in Savannah, good weather for them I guess.

This is a post to record my progress with them, and sort of lay out my thoughts and plans. I am new to the hobby but have done a fair bit of reading and collecting of material over the past 6 months. I've have had a passing interest in Bonsai conceptually since I was very young and saw the Karate Kid for the first time. I finally have the resources, space and time to pursue it the way I've always wanted to.

Despite all that I still have no real idea what I'm doing. I have some ideas on how to proceed with these trees in spring, but to be entirely honest I am intimidated. There are a lot of decisions to be made and I am still very uncertain of my ability to make them. On smaller/younger trees I think those decisions are a little easier, but with trees that are already so developed/aged, I am very nervous to make further chops. But I know I probably should to define the main trunk/shape of the Bonsai I want to make.