Collected Crape Myrtle…opinions?

SmallTreeGuy

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Hello all,

Zone 8a. I am getting new landscaping put in and in an attempt to beat the landscapers, I dug out one of four, 25’ Crape Myrtles in my front yard. I have the option of getting all 4 obviously but I don’t think I have the time (or energy) for all of them before work is started next week.

All pieces collected from the one Myrtle are tied in these grow boxes I made from plastic containers. I’m a woodworker/carpenter by trade and am a little bit embarrassed to admit that I did not build grow boxes for these due to not enough “extra time” (that time was spent Sawzall and the tree lol). Anyways, that’s a “cobbler’s children have no shoes” kind of situation for me.

Anyways, here are the 4 that I divided from one. Any opinions on these? They range from 16-20 or so inches in height and the large one’s diameter is about 10 inches across with hollowed out deadwood on the back side (not shown). The hollowed space in the large trunk is around 50-60 percent of that trunk.

What are your opinions on the long-term potential of these?IMG_9789.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_9791.jpeg
    IMG_9791.jpeg
    257.9 KB · Views: 60
  • IMG_9790.jpeg
    IMG_9790.jpeg
    243.6 KB · Views: 62
  • IMG_9792.jpeg
    IMG_9792.jpeg
    247.4 KB · Views: 58
The big chops on big stumps will need some imagination and skills to deal with in order that they won't just be stumps for years and years. Hope you have some good carving tools and skills to match.
The leaning trunk with the rot appeals to me as most likely to be easiest to convert.

The big chops on big stumps will need some imagination and skills to deal with in order that they won't just be stumps for years and years. Hope you have some good carving tools and skills to match.
The leaning trunk with the rot appeals to me as most likely to be easiest to convert.