Chinese Quince Care

Beng

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
I picked up a nice imported chinese quince (Pseudocydonia sinensis, not sure the subspecies) a few weeks back and would like to find out more about the species, but there isn't much info online other then very broad general care. What can you all tell me specifically about pruning chinese quince, fertilizing it, repotting and root removal i'm new to this species. I've pruned it back once since I got it. It seems to push growth mainly from the apex, perhaps it's strongly apically dominant. I pruned overall but i'm seeing most new growth come from the apex rather then from the cut branch tips.

I read this page but it discusses techniques for further along trees like timed defoliation and such. http://bonsaiunearthed.com/tag/chinese-quince/ I still need to build much better ramification.

It was pot pound so for now i slip potted it into a slightly larger grow pot for the summer. Seems healthy and happy. I plan to get it into a smaller pot next year depending on the amount of root reduction this species can take. I doubt you can tell from my bad iphone picture but two large 8 inch uncarved jins seem to have been left on the tree. I don't usually leave jins on deciduous trees unless it seems like the best way to go which it often isn't due to rot. If spring is the best time for C. Quince I plan to cut off these two large jins into the live wood to heal them over. The bark is beautiful, i love the way it flakes away to multiple colors. The trunk is 4-5 inches wide before the nebari looking foward to exposing it.

I tried to outline the basic trunk so you all could see it's shape a bit better.

View attachment 39526

View attachment 39527

Last edited:

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A