Brand new to Bonsai

Reaction score
Hi all. I’m completely brand new to Bonsai, and I’m looking to do my first small Bonsai. I want to do lucky bamboo, fern moss, and stone (more than likely seiryu stone). Where I’m getting a little stuck and unable to find an exact answer, is what kind of mix I should use for lucky bamboo. I assumed based on other posts, that I could do an equal mix of akadama, pumice, and lava rock, but I don’t know if that’s what should be used.

I’m also open to any and all recommendations, whether it be stone, soil, types of moss and other plants, etc.. I would love to expand my knowledge

Nope. It’s not. Next time I’ll Google first. Not sure about lucky bamboo and I don’t see it as bonsai material really. Not enough bark.
Yeah, it’s not traditionally used in bonsai. But it’s low maintenance and other things I’ve read have mentioned it as a good “dip your toe in” kind of plant, as well as other Dracaena varieties. However, if there are other lower maintenance/beginner bamboo/bamboo looking plants that you’d recommend, I’d love to know!

"Lucky Bamboo" is a dracena (Dracena sanderiana-Chinese water bamboo.), part of the asparagus family. It is not a tree, nor is it a bamboo. Nor is it really bonsai--as you can't apply bonsai techniques to it, or techniques used to tame actual bamboo in bonsai plantings (that involves peeling outer leaves away from the corm of the bamboo.).It is an herbaceous perennial plant native to tropical Western Africa. It seems to be grown in water in pots, with pebbles at the bottom.

You will have little luck with any traditional bonsai techniques on it and will not get much help here with it because it's so unusual as a bonsai (more accurately Penjing) subject. You're likely mostly on your own with it.

Last edited: