SmallTreeGuy

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
3C2C087E-9DD5-4100-82B4-3C0A5E9C4E76.jpegDE2A3592-04E4-4A47-8AD7-0EA2B7C0A70E.jpeg8C9FEB7A-C376-4A00-84B6-DCDAEAFF2EE2.jpegE2933E45-99A3-4C03-960A-24DD96BAC971.jpeg

Hello all,

I’m new to Bonsai Nut so please go easy on me. Lol

I live in Texas (Dallas zone 8a). Weather has just started to cool down just a bit from the scorching summer heat/drought that we’ve had.

Anyways, I bought this Parson’s juniper about a month ago at a local nursery and have cleaned out the crotch growth, downward growth, junctions of branches with 3 to keep from getting large nodes and anything that was too weak to keep. I carefully dug down to find another two inches of trunk underneath the nursery soil and came to some 1/4 inch sized roots and then stopped because it started to show signs that the trunk may get narrower and I didn’t want any reverse taper. I know Parsonii junipers aren’t usually used for bonsai but I thought I would at least give it a try. The trunk size and movement caught my eye as I was looking through the plants at the nursery. (And for 30 bucks, I couldn’t resist.)

I guess that’s enough for an introduction so on to the issue that I have.

The tree I’ve noticed, is almost all comprised of long shoots. I want to get more light into the interior but I am unsure how to proceed. Should I trim back the shoots? Should I cut some off entirely using normal branch selection? I’m not looking to style yet but I want to get the tree to a point where I can ponder more easily the best route to proceed with for future development of the tree. These long whips are full of healthy foliage but I cannot seem to wrap my head around how to proceed to set the tree up for wiring and creating pads in the future.