Bonsai tree for Japanese garden

Libor89

Seed
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to Bonsai and am wanting to buy my first one. This might be a bit weird but I am wanting to remove the bonsai from its pot and plant it into the soil in the garden directly. This will be planted into an island mound as part of the design for my Japanese garden. I have checked with bonsai people in my country and they said that it should be easy and there should not be any issues if I don’t touch the roots.

I am currently choosing between different species of Azalea, description of them below and also attaching photos (description follows the order of the photos) of the exact trees that are available to purchase.

1. Azalea Kinsai (14+ years age)
2. Azalea Fujimori (25+ years age)
3. Azalea Fujimori (15+ years age)
4. Azalea Royal Robe (25+ years age)

Would there be any recommendation to which one of the above to get? I think I am choosing between 1 and 2 at the moment.

Thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_2221.jpeg
    IMG_2221.jpeg
    130.3 KB · Views: 49
  • IMG_2225.jpeg
    IMG_2225.jpeg
    126.9 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_2226.jpeg
    IMG_2226.jpeg
    126.4 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_2227.jpeg
    IMG_2227.jpeg
    133.6 KB · Views: 50
I hope you realize that the azalea will not stay the same when planted in the ground. In the ground it will want to grow faster which will mean more trimming to maintain a shape. You may have the skill to keep it in nice shape or you may have someone who can do that for you but I suspect the tree will end up as a mound of foliage without any defined branches. If that's what you want I wonder why you are starting with a bonsai? You are probably paying a premium for the bonsai shape and trunk. I suspect it will be more economic to purchase an untrained azalea to plant in your garden.