Bonsai Album app for iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

AKNicolle

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I’m the developer of Bonsai Album, and you’re pretty much right on the money: few people bother to post a review! It also doesn’t help that the App Store had a nasty feature of hiding older reviews. I think they’ve addressed that somewhat with iOS 11, but we shall see.

I’ve been updating the app since its release in 2011, and the app works great in iOS 11. Earlier this year I released some major updates for all 3 platforms (iOS, Mac, and PC) that addressed a bunch of the most requested features over the years. Since then I’ve mostly been putting out bug fixes to keep things running nicely as operating system updates tend to keep breaking different things.

Currently planning some UI rewrites to get the iPhone X support looking a little less wonky :) If you’re planning to get an iPhone X, don’t be alarmed if the UI update isn’t available on day 1. I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me!

Cable

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Well I thank you for it and I will be writing a review once I've used it enough to have a good grasp. I don't like fake reviews!

Since you're planning on doing some work on it, may I offer a few suggestions? These may be completely dumb as they're coming from a novice so feel free to disregard the rantings of a lunatic. :)

• Could there be a checkbox to autopopulate the ID if you don't have a system of your own? I just use sequential numbers instead of a meaningful ID. I know not everyone does that.
  • Could there be an "estimate age" box to use instead of requiring Plant Date for calculating age? If you collect from the wild or purchase at a nursery it is rare to know the Plant Date. I've been lucky so far in that I've known the date they were planted for most of mine (since I work at a plant nursery) but even then it isn't entirely accurate. If we buy BR then it isn't born on the Plant Date.
  • Could Source be a dropdown like Pot?