Accidentally topped by Alberta Spruce (Overpruned)

SpruceWillis

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Hi Everyone,

No, I'm not an expert, and yes, I only watched the first 1/3 of a Heron's Bonsai video on pruning/wiring my first spruce before giving it a shot. Obligatory "I butchered it" and "I know it looks horrible" - please help me!

I accidentally topped the tree before reading that this was a horrible mistake. I've attached a photo from right after pruning, and as you can see it's not pretty (I thought I killed it).

Fast forward a month, and all the new buds are exploding with growth! I'm somehow very pleased with the progress in a month, and it doesn't seem like I killed the tree.

HOWEVER, the top is now a giant concern for me.... I'm not sure what to do. I'm thinking maybe I can grow out one of the top branches and wire it to come over the top, making some sort of funky pad design?

My other thought was learning how to do some sort of deadwood, and turn the top 1/4 of the tree into something worthwhile.

The problem, of course, is that I have no idea what I'm talking about! I dare you to google "topped alberta spruce" - all i seem to find are articles on why death is imminent.

Does anyone have any comments or ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_3118.jpg
    IMG_3118.jpg
    309.6 KB · Views: 86
the tree looks okay to me. Looks like it has plenty of foliage. You already said it, just have to work on your wiring technique. IF you did over prune it, nothing can really be done except for managing any symptoms as they come. From my experience over pruning doesn’t kill a tree UNLESS it’s already super stressed out from some other reason. Pruning too quickly after a previous prune can weaken trees for sure.