Strange bonsai material advice

Matt B

Mame
Reaction score
I am in the mood to do something weird, so I am starting a bonsai odf a type I haven't ever seen, or heard discussed: Thanksgiving Cactus. I have a few houseplants that I have been playing around with for several years, and I have discovered a few thinks. They grow thick, woody trunks and branches when they are grown as single specimens, and they are fairly easy to ramify. They do like to grow linearly, and when they ramify, the branches want to spread out like a fan on one plane, unless they are encouraged to do something different.

In normal bonsai, this is rectified by wiring. I have been thinking about how to wire flat leaves that will eventually thicken into woody branches. Short of simply painstakingly flat-and-crease wiring the branches, I can't come up with a more elegant solution. I suppose I could run a thick strand of wire from the base, bend it into the path that I want the branch to follow, then strap the branches closely to the wire with landscape tape, but that would not allow for any twisting to break up the tendency for the branch to grow in a flat plane. Anyone have any ideas?

This is one specimen that I could thin out and start working, but the challenge is readily apparent.
1000016747.jpg1000016749.jpg1000016750.jpg

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Sometimes older houseplants and tropicals develop a lot of character as the become more tree like.

Matt B

Mame
Reaction score
How does it respond to clip and grow?